Once Upon A Little Farm

A Glimpse Into Our Country Life

15 Days of Fall Fun ~ Day 2: Combine Rides and Spiders

on October 26, 2012

Well, I goofed up.  I did not stick to my plan for our projects today.  Fridays really lack routine at our home and I’m realizing that that really gets the kids and I all out of sorts.  They’re pokey and less apt to know what is expected of them.  I’m impatient, grouchy and apt to yell because I am bummed that it’s usually a highly unproductive day.   Those feelings went out the window when ventured outside into the glorious fall day that God had created.  The sun was shining and temps reached the low 70’s here in western NY.

Fall fun did happen, for sure, but it was not what I had originally planned.  Isn’t that the way life usually works though?  The best times cannot be entirely planned for.  We can plan our day all we want, but it is the Lord who actually determines what steps we’ll take (Proverbs 16:9).

We rent out all of the tillable farm land we own and it always a neat experience for my children to see all of the monstrous farming equipment.  The old relics my dad used on this same farm were less than half the size of the modern day.  The lower fields by our barn were planted to soybeans this year, which they harvested today.  My 2 year old son was so excited to see the big combine working out there.  We ventured out to see it up close and even got to ride a few rounds! 🙂 The view of our farmhouse is nice from the cab of a combine.  The kids had a great time and won’t soon forget that big harvester!

In addition to our unplanned fall fun, I’m showing you the spider my daughter and I made a week or so ago.  We hung it from the ceiling to “scare” Daddy when he came home from work.

To make the spider you will need….

  • 1 small black paper plate (or be prepared to paint both sides of a white paper plate if that is all you have)
  • string
  • black constructiImageImageImageImageImageon paper cut into 1 in. x 8 1/2 in. strips (need 8 strips for the spiders 8 legs)
  • black paint
  • brush
  • 2 –  1 in. white paper circles or 2 large wiggly eyes
  • glue stick
  • thumbtack (for poking holes in plate)

He is simple to make….

  1.  I had my daughter paint the white side of the paper plate black while I cut the paper strips for the legs.
  2. We used the 2 white paper circles instead of wiggly eyes.  Use black crayon to turn them into eye balls with black in the center.
  3. When the paint had dried, my daughter used the glue stick to attach the 2 eyes and 4 legs on each side of the eyes.
  4. I used a thumbtack to poke 2 holes side by side in the center of the plate.
  5. I put one end of the string down through the first hole and up through the second and then tied it off.  The remaining length of string is what we used to hang him from.  He is taped onto the base of a light fixture.

Happy Unplanned Fall, ya’ll!

Leave a Reply

