Once Upon A Little Farm

A Glimpse Into Our Country Life

Meals for the Month of May!

on May 3, 2014

When I set out to do my 2-week meal plan the other day, I didn’t think it would end up covering the rest of the month!  My hubby gets paid the 1st and 16th of each month and I try to only hit the grocery store at those times.  I usually try to stay within the $150 range every 2 weeks for the 4 of us (2 adults, 5 year old and 3 year old).  A huge key to our spending less at the store is that we have our own beef and pork in the freezer. Without that, my trips would cost a lot more!

I shop at Save-A-Lot, Aldi and Tops.  Usually it’s 2 of the 3, but this time around, I hit all 3.  Over time, I have learned which one carries certain items and which does not, which one has better produce, and at which location an item is cheaper.

My receipts this go-round ended up like this:  Tops $52.73, Aldi $108.39, Save-A-Lot $15.97 for a total of $177.09.  Granted, it’s about $27 over what I typically try to spend, but it covers twice as much as usual!

Next pay day, there will need to be another run for fresh fruits and veggies and milk, but meals for the entire rest of May are covered! I imagine I’ll only spend about $50 for the second 2-week period this month!

So here’s the menu for the month – paired up with a night each fits best on, depending what’s going on in life:

May 3) Roast chicken, mashed potatoes, broccoli & cauliflower with sharp cheese

May 4) Chicken & Cheese Quesadillas (using leftovers from roast chicken), corn & watermelon

May 5) Roast Beef, potatoes & carrots (crock pot meal)

May 6) Chicken Chimies, rice & watermelon

May 7) Pizza (frozen) & salad (so easy as it’s church school/swim lessons night)

May 8) Beef Stroganoff (using leftover from the roast) & broccoli

May 9) Apple Pork Chop Casserole & cucumbers

May 10) Pork Roast (crock pot), mashed potatoes, & mixed veggies

May 11) Broccoli Chicken Casserole & pears

May 12) BBQ Pulled Pork (using leftovers from the pork roast), baked beans, corn & corn bread

May 13) Tuna Noodle Bake & salad

May 14) Stuffed Shells (already in freezer from a previous meal), breadsticks & cucumbers (easy as it’s church school/swim lessons night)

May 15) I don’t have to cook! It’s the Hospital Recognition Dinner – hubby has 10 years in there!

May 16) Ham (crock pot), au gratin potatoes & peas

May 17) Ham Chowder (using leftover ham) & bread (it’s the annual Dogwood Parade, which the kids love to watch, so we’ll be able to come home to this all ready and waiting)

May 18) Pancakes, sausage & eggs

May 19) Ham N Cheese Pasta (using leftover ham) & fruit

May 20) Chicken Parmesan & salad

May 21) Taco Soup (crock pot) & bread (easy as it’s church school/swim lessons night)

May 22) Dinner at my mother-in-law’s (we do this almost every Thursday since my daughter has dance class at 6 pm in the same town)

May 23) Frittata & fruit

May 24) Pork Steaks on the grill, pasta salad & California veggie blend

May 25) Salmon Cornbread Cakes, carrots & fruit

May 26) Steak on the grill, baked potatoes & salad

May 27) Taco Casserole & broccoli

May 28) Pizza (frozen) & cucumbers (so easy as it’s church school/swim lessons night)

May 29) Dinner at my mother-in-law’s (we do this almost every Thursday since my daughter has dance class at 6 pm in the same town)

May 30) Penne with Sausage & Cheese & peas

May 31) Shrimp Alfredo with spinach

 

Perhaps I’ll cover how I come up with such a list of meals in another post.

 

Leave a Reply

